Tuesday, June 23, 2009

W.W.C.N.D.

Okay it's been a little while since our last post here at IRBB. I'm sure my devoted fans are really missing the posts.......all two of them. Speaking of which, go ahead and subscribe. Add this blog to your list, click that "Follow" button.

Ahem... now then... well in the news, Ed McMahon died today at 86. Very sad. But you gotta look on the bright side. This is a man living out his later years in debt and financial 'turmoil', while giving out multimillion dollar checks to giddy, unsuspecting lucky bastards. Rest in peace, Ed.

Anywho, on to other stuff. Of course, the most important story is The Conduit (Wii). Having waited long and patiently since the very first snippet of a preview... we will finally be able to get our hands on the first 'true FPS' for the Wii.

With less than 24 hours remaining before launch, we are enjoying one more teasing taste in the form of the "Monumental" Trailer, now on YouTube and everywhere else in gaming webspace.
Here's the link to that trailer, in case you're interested, or you like pretty colors or you have no idea what we're talking about at this point - enjoy: The Conduit Monumental Trailer

I only hope that Wii owners and gamers all over the nation recognize and take this opportunity to embrace those developers going out into wild frontiers for us. We hardcore gamers who have to sort through all the shovelware on the Wii shelves are finally being granted our boon. We have to respond accordingly.

Support the Conduit. Buy the game, play the campaign, play it online, join the community, play some deathmatches, whoop some ass, take some ass whoopings, and help bring teabagging to a family console (hopefully crouching is possible, and it'd be awesome if it was motion-based) along with everything else about the so-called 'hardcore' genre.

It may not be Halo 3.... but it looks like they've pushed the Wii to its limits and merited respect for their loyalty to the ambition. And besides... with our encouragement, support, and the projected revenue statistics we can provide will mean better and better games of this kind.

I've said my piece, so that's where I'll leave it for now. I'll have a critical and opinionated review for everyone after I play the game.

And in closing, I just have one more thing to say. Please friggin' STOP with the Perez Hilton CRAP. So tired of hearing about it. Don't get sucked in. Just ask yourself the one easy question that solves everything: What Would Chuck Norris Do? Oh, you really want to know now huh, you've opened yourself up for a Chuck Norris joke. Okay fine. When Chuck Norris jumps in a river, he doesn't get wet.......... the water gets Chuck Norris. Ciao!

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Can't Play on XBL? Just Go See Vanilla Ice

An event of monumental proportions occurred yesterday, when hundreds of thousands of typically couch-ridden people emerged from their homes and discovered the outside world.

The maintenance outage on June 16th, for Microsoft's Xbox Live service, kept the online gaming cyberspace dark for at least 24 hours. I suppose they might want to try and avoid another incident involving irate gamers attempting to sue Microsoft again.

But that's okay, we can put down the controller for a bit.........because anyone near East Texas will have something to do. Remember Vanilla Ice? He's back, and he's going to be in concert! Aren't we lucky? Yes, the hip-pop 'artist' will perform live in the bustling hot-spot in East Texas known as Gun Barrel City (this is no joke, people). The splat-in-the-road town has little hope of redemption at this point.

Tickets to the country saloon where he is set to perform are now on sale. I think I heard they're 10 bucks on the radio... but they will probably just go ahead and let their regular crowd in the door anyway.

Monday, June 1, 2009

A Tough Act to Follow

It's Marvelous Monday again folks, and there was some great gaming on this weekend that I'm just going to have to blog about here. The most notable of which is a bit of Halo 3 online that went down early Saturday morning.

I played as a guest on XBL with my buddy Jason (gamertag: Motorboater3000) and as we got the games going, we were unexpectedly joined by some friends we used to work with. Our old buddies at hcditrading.com (Jeremy, Dustin, Steven & Guy) jumped in and played with us through some crazy matches where my own performance was admittedly disappointingly marginal. Jeremy (jerpy69) made sure to show off his typical talents, raking in the majority of the kills most of the time. Either way, it was a nice workplace reunion on Halo 3 online.

While I started out crappy...it's okay.... I was just warming up. After a few games I picked up the pace and was proud of the results. But it was the final game of the night, a bout of Slayer on Rat's Nest, that represents the most notable of all. Jason and I hopped into a Warthog at the outset, and proceeded to unleash a fury of pwnage upon the poor little Red Team.


(Jason greases the wheels with red guys)

We can see in the above screenshot, as Jason titled "Trail of Dead", his driving talents were already racking up the frags, along with plenty 'wheelman' assists. At this point, with more than 10 minutes remaining, we were up 16 to 5, leaving dead red guys in our wake (see pic).

Jason only died once this game (a pretty cheap and unexpected one), drove the warthog almost the entire time, and still racked up 6 kills, earning a well-deserved Splatter Spree, and finished with 20 Assists!!!

My spot was on the Turret the entire game, and the one time Jason was killed, I took off running through the tunnel to the opposite side of the map, and when I reached the other side, Jason was already hopping into the driver seat of a new warthog, so that when i emerged from the tunnel, I headed straight for the gunner seat and we were on the rampage again as if there was no break in the action.

We met plenty of angry opposition in the form of Brute Shot-weilding enemies, opposing warthogs and plenty of 'nades tossed our way, yet we emerged victorious (albeit driving a pretty banged-up 'hog at the end). Thanks to jason's driving and my own desire to administer maximum pain to the red team, I ended the game with 19 kills, and zero deaths, earning the prestigious "PERFECTION!" award for the game, with 4 kills to spare for the achievement.

My tag was "Motorboater3000(G)" as I was but a lowly guest for these games, but you can check out those stats at the link above. This kinda stuff is the reason I play Halo.


Proof of Perfection

Now then, that I have exploited our bragging rights enough on Halo 3, here is the rest of the installment from last week on Wii Punch Out. You've already used the Super Macho Man guide to effectively destroy him, so now without fruther achoo, here is how to beat the crap out of Mr. Sandman:

Mr. Sandman has a variety of punishing attacks in his arsenal. Regardless, I'm going to focus here on the primary strategies for defeating him:

*After dodging a punch, you can light him up by hitting him in the face, followed by a series of body punches. If you hit him in the face twice, he'll just block and you've wasted your opportunity.

*Throw jabs to the face often. You'll usually head him off before he throws a punch. Beating him to the punch is also your primary method of gathering star punches. If you run out of hearts, DODGE!!!

*DO NOT 'spam' a bunch of jabs repeatedly, or you will pay.

*Watch out when he backs up and says "Afraid"... the triple lightning uppercuts are coming.

*If you accidentally dodge too early before his "Stand Still" hammer punch, throw a left hook immediately and you can usually prevent the pummelling.

*If you accidentally dodge too early before his mean"Night night" Left hook, throw a right hook immediately, and you can usually block his blow just in time.

One more hint for you: When Sandman backs up and prepares for his signature triple-punch, he will sometimes try to fake you out by saying "Boo!" (sometimes even more than once). In this case, it is okay to dodge at that point, and its also even okay to dodge at the second "boo" so long as you follow it up with an immediate dodge to avoid the punches. What you DON'T want to do is sit there expecting the "boo" and fail to doge in time if he chooses to come right at you with the uppercuts. You'll be eating canvas shortly if you're trying to be too cautious. Good luck!

Friday, May 29, 2009

Wii Like Punching Stuff

Alright let's see what we have in today's random Fabulous Friday grab-bag.
I suppose in the spirit of blogging, I shall share a bit of my personal interests which in this case is gaming. As a true through-and-through gamer at heart, I will occasionally include content here that relates to the beloved hobby.

And as it turns out, I spent an hour or so last night finishing the new Wii "Punch Out". So perhaps I'll share today a little section I like to call "How to Beat the Crap Out of Super Macho Man" and stay tuned for the next article for "How to Beat the Crap Out of Mr. Sandman".
If you're playing the game, and either having a tough time felling these beasts, or you're on your way to the top, I'll just cover these two proficient pugilists and hopefully make things go smoothly for your final pursuit to the WCC Belt. Enjoy

Beating the Crap Out of Super Macho Man

This guy is actually a pushover, and if you play your cards right you can easily smack him down for good in Round One.

Super Macho Man has two primary attacks at the outset: A left and right uppercut.
When he crouches to the left (your left) and says "Crunchin...", you will disappoint him by dodging immediately to the left, yielding a surprised look on his face accompanied with "DUDE!"
You will take the opportunity here to punch him a few times with Left-Right-Left alternating jabs to the face, but after the first few quick punches, his head will lean a bit further out of reach, and he'll block if you keep up punching quickly at that point. So you've got to change up your rhythm to get in those precious extra punches. After the first few quick punches, when his head rocks further to the side, wait a split second before throwing another punch, and you'll connect again. Follow it up with another couple alternating face jabs to the proper side of the face at the same, slightly slower rhythm. If you've timed it right, your final punch in the combo nets you a star. Hang on to it and don't get hit!

When Macho Man crouches to the right (your right), you'll need to wait just a split second before you dodge, as the uppercut is a bit delayed (while he knocks his gloves together).
If you manage to dodge this one, you could take this opportunity to land a few more face punches... OR you could just grab a quick free easy Star Punch out of it. Rather than just Punching him repeatedly in the face immediately after dodging this uppercut, you should wait just a split second longer before you connect. A good rule is to wait for him to finish saying "BOGUS!", and right after he says it, smack him with one good left jab to the face and if you've timed it right, you'll earn a Star on the spot.

One other opportunity for grabbing a star from Super Macho Man is when he poses for the cameras. He'll flash yellow for a second and say "Photo Op". You want to smack him in the face right when he says "Op", and you'll bank that star punch.

Considering the opportunities thus far, you should have no problem stacking up 3 stars, as well as putting a hurt on Macho Man through the process. As long as you can time your dodges properly and keep your stars, you should be able to launch a triple-star-punch after the next uppercut dodge following earning your third star, and he'll hit the canvas.

After knocking Macho Man down, he'll add the classic spin punch to his arsenal. Watch for his quick wind-up and immediately duck to avoid the spin punch (which will punish your health and hearts if it hits). After successfully dodging, you want to employ the alternating left-right face jabs as before (you'll get more punches in after the spin punch than you did from dodging regular uppercuts)... and remember to change up your rhythm to a slightly slower routine when his head rocks further out to the side (also noted by his groans being a bit more drawn out). If you connect with all your jabs and time it correctly, you can net another star out of the deal on the final punch.

Similar to the single spin punch is the patented and deadly Triple spin punch, which is foretold by quite a little show prior to the event. He will also prep up while saying "Super...Macho...Man", and then unleash a fast and furious spinning punch. You'll need to be quick about your ducking, three times in a row. If you managed dodge all three, great work, you can punish him in the same manner as with the single spin punch.

Again, stack up 3 star punches (or two if you feel like you're losing the stars too quickly before using them) and let him have it. Be warned, after you knock him down twice, Super Macho Man will become more aggressive and much quicker about the pain he intends to deliver upon you.
Perhaps the trickiest and most painful in Macho Man's arsenal is a super-quick right hook that often seems to come out of no where, and he's not afraid to string them together. Watch out for this one above all, as it is exactly the type of attack designed to throw you off and this bout can easily turn into a nightmare after knocking him down twice. Keep an eye out for that hook, dodge to the left and pummel him appropriately to stay on top.

Just use the proper techniques in the proper situations according to what he throws at you, and use your triple-star-punch as soon as you've got an open shot. Repeat that process and be quick to react when things get hairy. You'll see how fast you can rack up the stars and put this ego-freak down for good without even going to round two.

There you have it kids...that's how you beat the crap out of Super Macho Man.

A few tricks for you regarding Mr. Sandman, as a little preview for the guide next time....

*Be agressive and you're more likely to earn stars
*If he fakes you out and you dodge early, throw a hook
*Know the pattern: Face-Body-Body-Body-Body

See ya next time!

Thursday, May 28, 2009

The Numbers Game

Well, I missed Wordless Wednesday, but that's okay, we can bounce back right! Maybe Wordless Friday will make up for it.....

Anywho, it's time for the quick, bite-sized digestible factoid statistics everyone loves:
Breakdown of numbers of things in relation to random (and often newsworthy) stuff.

1,053.............Articles on Google News 1 hr after Microsoft "Bing"
242,666.........Views in one day of the "New Moon" vid on YouTube
2,379..............Pages in the books of Meyer's Vampire series
34...................Percentage of decrease in PC Sales
1.....................Shows remaining for Tonight Show host Jay Leno
0.....................Times I will watch Conan O'Brien when he takes over
0.4..................Micrograms of Cocaine in German "Red Bull Cola"
30 Million......Xbox 360's sold (took them long enough)
900 Million...Mel Gibson's estimated value (REALLY?!?)
450 Million...Amount Mel will probably fork over in the divorce

And for one last random number....... do you know how many golf balls can fit into a 747? Well I was asked this question at a job interview one time, and I had NO CLUE. So suffice it to say, I found out. The number is 3,287,519. I'll never forget it, and now you too have this otherwise totally useless information. Enjoy... and PLEASE COMMENT WITH YOUR OWN NUMBERS!!

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

You gotta be kidding me

Hello once again on this terrific Tuesday. Hope everyone enjoyed the Memorial Day weekend.

We've got a few points of interest floating out there on the web today.

North Korea is up to its antics again, having test fired a couple more missiles and drawing the attention of the entire world as it likes to do. Apparently, the merits of many closed-door meetings haven't surfaced on the news yet. Stay tuned.

Also, Mike Tyson is in the news again... with a tragic accident leaving his young daughter on life support after a mishap on the treadmill.

And speaking of Mike Tyson, the new Wii 'Punch Out' is bringing a splash of nostalgia to our generation of gamers. And a startling rumor that indicates the possibility of Mike Tyson (or a likeness thereof) being one of the hidden fighters to topple.

According to lore, it is possible to unlock a fighter named "Tike Myson", who looks exactly like our favorite angry pugilist. The feat apparently requires felling every other fighter in the first round without using star punches, as well as completing all the challenges. Please, someone tell me if you pull this off.

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Tech Toys and Precarious Prototypes

Well it's tremendous Thursday kids! Let's look and see what's out there today.

In techie-style news, we see the creator of Craigslist is finally pissed off and suing the South Carolina Attorney General for all the prosecution threats. And they say prostitution is a victimless crime.


Also, GameStop (our favorite purveyor of video games) is giving a doom-and-gloom prediction of its stability in the market, even after a positive first quarter.


And while Google along with many in the tech community are balking at Microsoft's new "Kumo" search engine, Eric Schmidt (Google CEO) is 86'ing the notion of buying a newspaper.


How about some cool tech stuff now? Yeah, let's see what we got.


Engadget is buzzing about a new Transforming Laser Mouse from Trypticon. Looks pretty cool, but are we really comfortable with the $60 price tag? You be the judge.


Also this morning from Engadget, a very cool shot of the new Tawain National Stadium, upcoming host of the 2009 World Games, getting a shiny sparkling new Solar Panel roof. Containing almost 9,000 photovoltaic solar panels, the $152 million stadium will draw enough power from the solar roof to cover 75% of its energy usage on a sunny day. When not in use, the stadium's panels are still hard at work, feeding the local community's power grid with the surplus sunshine.


Then we've got good ol' Gizmodo, featuring a very cool article about Sony's new 400-disc Blu Ray Changer. If you're gonna have a Blu Ray player, and you like to collect movies, you might as well have 400 slots for your discs. It'll be a while before you have to swap anything out, and when that day comes you can either say "Wow I have more than 400 blu ray discs"... OR ... "Okay we've had this #$!&ing thing for five years can we just get the digital media player".





And finally.......Do you know what time it is? Good luck with that question if you decide to adorn your wrist with the new Storm Synth watch. Very cool, sleek chrome watches establish a new precedent in form, with a deceitful approach in its functionality. Those decoy clock hands may just get you into some hot water if caught off guard on the street when a passer-by asks if you 'happen to have the time'. Try not to stutter.

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Happy WW: DEMOTIVATORS YAY!!

Happy Wordless Wednesday. Today's gallery features some of my favorite Demotivator Posters. There are tons more at despair.com and they're just great. Enjoy!






















Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Don't Tweet My Facebook Like Your Google

Are we just reverting to baby talk with our web-lingo evolving the way it is? Sure we've got exponential technological advancement, but we're still regressing now that everything is abbreviated and sounds like gibberish. Fine by me.

Today is terrific Tuesday and we're going hunting for some viral vids on the web. We will get to a few cool videos momentarily... but first I'd like to share a couple of points of interest.

Progressive Poker
First is a cool idea for a party or dinner, especially a "Progressive Dinner". Make it a progressive dinner poker night. Start out and name the stakes, and then hop to five different houses. You get a card at each stop and by the last one, you have a five card hand. Whoever has the best hand wins.

Google Revelation
Also, I was listening to a radio talk show today. The show's theme is financial and they take callers who have money questions. Anywho, long story short, the host of the show suggested a specialized consultant of some kind to the caller. While she was talking, he did what everyone else would do and used Google to search for that type of consultant.

When he relayed his search results to the lady on the phone, this guy made a big huge deal of hype about the fact that there were "164,000" results found ... thereby establishing some sort of merit to the industry. Sure, there may be a good handful of businesses out there representing those results in part.

But I just wish people would understand this about Google: Don't focus too much on the number of results returned in your given search, unless it's below 1,000 (then you need to type in something different, Einstein). The point is this: Google the words "Click Here". Enough said.

NOW THEN ON TO THE VIDEOS
What have we got today circling in the ether? Well first and foremost, I've got a great one that if you hadn't seen yet, is a can't miss vid but not for the faint of heart. It's not new, but I saw it a few weeks ago and it's gotta get represented here:

Leg in the Wall



Here's another painful video, and so since we all love watching others suffer in agony after doing something stupid... this is a newer one that has surfaced on the net.

Stylish Faceplant


Skater Faceplants With Style - Watch more Funny Videos

Need another little dose of cringing at the pain? Need a good reason why you're supposed to LEARN about riding 4 wheelers before you ride them, or better yet, why you should wear a friggin helmet? Then this one is perfect

Brave Backflip

Why You Should Wear A Helmet - Watch more Funny Videos

And finally, if you've never played Halo 3 before, that doesn't matter but it'd be a whole lot cooler if you did. (Thanks to Bungie for the AMAZING forge and video capabilities on Halo 3 that make machinimanics of everyone)

Halo 3: Where _____ Happens

Monday, May 18, 2009

Monday Madness 1



Alright! Let's see if we can get somewhere with our first week here, and my nice little schedule that we've carved out, let's see it's Marvelous Monday!




What do we have on the internet today?




Snopes.com is investigating some internet lore regarding thieves who stole Mr. Rogers car, and eventually returned it when they found it was his.




A few more hilarious (and disturbing) stories found at Snopes include:

*Canadian woman handcuffed and detained for not holding escalator railing
*Woman uses 1-year-old baby as a shield against a police officer's taser
*Yellowstone employees caught on cam pissing into Old Faithful
*Teen using Banana in robbery gets caught and eats the evidence


Today's StraightDope.com question is:


"Is it true about Catherine the Great and the horse?"

How nice...if you're not sure about the context of this question or what it's talking about, then just head over to straight dope and check it out. Also, the answer might surprise you.
Weird Earl's site of the day is a pretty funny digital Flea Circus you can play with. Crazy.

Well there you go, now you're all caught up... and thanks for the people supporting these efforts and checking out my blog.


Here's your parting shot: the NASA Photo of the Day....



They should hopefully complete their Hubble Telescope repairs today. Thanks guys!





Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Taking Shape

Well as this little splat-in-the-road blog remains largely undeveloped, I will begin the transformation with the original intent in mind.

This space will include all the cool crazy hilarious or interesting stuff on the internet that I see in my daily surfing... and there's just so much great stuff out there in the ether that hopefully this blog could become a one-stop-shop of some most beloved sites and content thereof.

Perhaps a weekly schedule will suffice to initiate the concept.

Mondays: Odd News, Outrageous Internet Fare, Stuff from Snopes.com and Straightdope.com

Tuesdays: Viral Videos

Wednesdays: Worldess Wednesday of course! Only the coolest photos will grace this space.

Thursdays: Tech Stuff and gadgetry, perhaps some content from Tech Websites

Fridays: A best-of Mish-Mash with tons of cool content, submit your own stuff for the weekend!

Of course all of this will be delightfully interlaced with plenty of my own sharp criticisms and clever remarks, or expert advice. However you like to see it.

Enjoy, as this will launch next Monday... and I'm going to promote and get this thing out there. Digg shall be my friend... I hope.

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

The First Post

Well here goes nothing. My very own little corner of cyberspace.

This blog is dedicated to pretty much whatever I feel like posting, ultimately ambitiously pursuing the goal of attracting a bunch of attention whether I like it or not.

Most likely filled with randomness or one of those articles I see which, previously, I had really no where to put my ideas. So now I have a place. Who needs Twitter anyway...I'd rather be blogging.