Monday, June 1, 2009

A Tough Act to Follow

It's Marvelous Monday again folks, and there was some great gaming on this weekend that I'm just going to have to blog about here. The most notable of which is a bit of Halo 3 online that went down early Saturday morning.

I played as a guest on XBL with my buddy Jason (gamertag: Motorboater3000) and as we got the games going, we were unexpectedly joined by some friends we used to work with. Our old buddies at hcditrading.com (Jeremy, Dustin, Steven & Guy) jumped in and played with us through some crazy matches where my own performance was admittedly disappointingly marginal. Jeremy (jerpy69) made sure to show off his typical talents, raking in the majority of the kills most of the time. Either way, it was a nice workplace reunion on Halo 3 online.

While I started out crappy...it's okay.... I was just warming up. After a few games I picked up the pace and was proud of the results. But it was the final game of the night, a bout of Slayer on Rat's Nest, that represents the most notable of all. Jason and I hopped into a Warthog at the outset, and proceeded to unleash a fury of pwnage upon the poor little Red Team.


(Jason greases the wheels with red guys)

We can see in the above screenshot, as Jason titled "Trail of Dead", his driving talents were already racking up the frags, along with plenty 'wheelman' assists. At this point, with more than 10 minutes remaining, we were up 16 to 5, leaving dead red guys in our wake (see pic).

Jason only died once this game (a pretty cheap and unexpected one), drove the warthog almost the entire time, and still racked up 6 kills, earning a well-deserved Splatter Spree, and finished with 20 Assists!!!

My spot was on the Turret the entire game, and the one time Jason was killed, I took off running through the tunnel to the opposite side of the map, and when I reached the other side, Jason was already hopping into the driver seat of a new warthog, so that when i emerged from the tunnel, I headed straight for the gunner seat and we were on the rampage again as if there was no break in the action.

We met plenty of angry opposition in the form of Brute Shot-weilding enemies, opposing warthogs and plenty of 'nades tossed our way, yet we emerged victorious (albeit driving a pretty banged-up 'hog at the end). Thanks to jason's driving and my own desire to administer maximum pain to the red team, I ended the game with 19 kills, and zero deaths, earning the prestigious "PERFECTION!" award for the game, with 4 kills to spare for the achievement.

My tag was "Motorboater3000(G)" as I was but a lowly guest for these games, but you can check out those stats at the link above. This kinda stuff is the reason I play Halo.


Proof of Perfection

Now then, that I have exploited our bragging rights enough on Halo 3, here is the rest of the installment from last week on Wii Punch Out. You've already used the Super Macho Man guide to effectively destroy him, so now without fruther achoo, here is how to beat the crap out of Mr. Sandman:

Mr. Sandman has a variety of punishing attacks in his arsenal. Regardless, I'm going to focus here on the primary strategies for defeating him:

*After dodging a punch, you can light him up by hitting him in the face, followed by a series of body punches. If you hit him in the face twice, he'll just block and you've wasted your opportunity.

*Throw jabs to the face often. You'll usually head him off before he throws a punch. Beating him to the punch is also your primary method of gathering star punches. If you run out of hearts, DODGE!!!

*DO NOT 'spam' a bunch of jabs repeatedly, or you will pay.

*Watch out when he backs up and says "Afraid"... the triple lightning uppercuts are coming.

*If you accidentally dodge too early before his "Stand Still" hammer punch, throw a left hook immediately and you can usually prevent the pummelling.

*If you accidentally dodge too early before his mean"Night night" Left hook, throw a right hook immediately, and you can usually block his blow just in time.

One more hint for you: When Sandman backs up and prepares for his signature triple-punch, he will sometimes try to fake you out by saying "Boo!" (sometimes even more than once). In this case, it is okay to dodge at that point, and its also even okay to dodge at the second "boo" so long as you follow it up with an immediate dodge to avoid the punches. What you DON'T want to do is sit there expecting the "boo" and fail to doge in time if he chooses to come right at you with the uppercuts. You'll be eating canvas shortly if you're trying to be too cautious. Good luck!

No comments:

Post a Comment